October 9, 2014 to March 15, 2015
Everyday • all day
Admission: Adults $ 18 / Seniors (65 and over) $ 16 / Ages 18 to 30 $ 10 / Ages 12 to 17 $ 1 / Children (12 and under) Free
Musée national des beaux-arts du Québec
Parc des Champs-de-Batailles
Borough of La Cité-Limoilou / Downtown
Québec , QC , G1R 5H3
In January 1918 a few French-speaking Montreal intellectuals – Robert Laroque de Rocquebrune, Léo-Pol Morin and Fernand Préfontaine – founded the monthly magazine Le Nigog.
From January to December 1918 some thirty contributors took part in this adventure by turns, commenting in French or English on the artistic scene of the day. Literature, music, architecture and visual arts found here an open space for catching the public’s eye, one devoted to promoting art and to the debates to which artistic activity gives rise.
The exhibition brings together some thirty works – paintings, pastels and sculptures – by artists such as Ozias Leduc, Clarence Gagnon, John Lyman, Henri Hébert and Adrien Hébert. Visitors will also discover little-known paintings by Charles Gill, Georges Delfosse and Charles De Belle.